Coinbase hit by connection, latency problems as bitcoin plummets

Fibo Quantum

The Coinbase cryptocurrency exchange application seen on the screen of an iPhone.

Getty Images Europe | Getty Images

Cryptocurrency exchange Coinbase said on Thursday its retail and professional-focused platforms were hit by tech problems, with users reporting difficulty trading as bitcoin plunged towards its biggest one-day drop since September.

California-based Coinbase said on its website at 14:14 GMT (9:14 a.m. ET) it was investigating connectivity problems, adding at 14:42 GMT (9:42 a.m. ET) that it had identified the problem and implemented a solution.

In a separate post at 15:21 GMT (10:21 a.m. ET) on its Coinbase Pro site it said “increased latencies impacting order entry and settlement” for its Coinbase Pro service, adding it was investigating the problem.

A spokesman for Coinbase, one of the biggest cryptocurrency exchanges, declined to comment.

Coinbase users on Twitter reported problems trading.

One Coinbase Pro user told Reuters by message: “The outage prevented me from submitting a buy limit order which would’ve been executed as the limit price was met. At this time the order finally went through but I missed the price for now.”

Bitcoin, the world’s biggest cryptocurrency, slumped as much as 13% on Thursday to its lowest since Nov. 16., slamming the brakes on its red-hot rally and sparking a sell-off of smaller coins.

It was last down 9% at $16,904 and on course for its biggest one-day drop since Sept 3. The move represents a sharp correction from its three-year high of its near-record $19,521 hit on Wednesday.